Benched

1 Jun

For the past several weeks I’ve had 2 lumps in my armpit. With visions of Terms of Endearment in my head I went to see my doctor about 3 weeks ago. She determined they were clogged sweat glands and nothing to worry about but she gave me something topical to apply each night. I did so religiously but in the past few days the pain from Darryl and Darryl taking residence under my arm has intensified, preventing me from moving well while working out and sometimes from sleeping.

To add insult to injury, my company changed insurers and now my medical practice, where I’ve been a patient since I outgrew my pediatrician, is out of network. Unable to deal with the discomfort anymore I went to a doc-in-a-box after work tonight. The doctor was actually great – funny yet professional. Long story short, the glands are infected, I can’t wear anything with sleeves,or wear deodorant.  Worse yet, until the lumps decrease in size I can’t shave or work out.  Added bonus? It’s Shark Week.

I will get better, hopefully sooner rather than later but it’s a detour at a time when I’m building new healthy habits.  I’m being benched just when I’m hitting my stride.  Remember when I said that my body pisses me off sometimes? Perfect example right here. There’s really only one course of action available…or at least one smart course of action. I have to take my antibiotics, face the horror of going to work sleeveless, watch my food intake really carefully, and try to do small exercises that won’t make things worse.  I think gentle yoga is going to have to be my friend this week.  I have to set reasonable expectations for myself until I heal and get past Shark Week. If I can get through this week without gaining weight it’ll be the best realistic outcome.

That being said, there are a lot of good things to focus on.  Starting this blog has meant a great deal to me. Eric had far more faith in me than I had in myself, but I just told him this morning that more important than the attention it gets, the blog is important because it represents a real change for me. So many times in the past I’ve come up with ideas that seem like real winners but I’ve never had the balls to actually follow through. It’s much like my own weight loss struggles…I just gave up because I was so convinced I’d fail.  So, thank you for your support and I promise I won’t give up on me if you don’t give up on you. We can be slow and steady together, face our setbacks head on and keep on moving no matter how long this takes.

I’ve been passing on your questions to not only a trainer but also a yoga instructor so we have two “Ask The Expert” posts to look forward to.  If you have any other questions or just want to let me know how you’re doing, leave a comment below.  Hang in there guys – I will too.

 

 

4 Responses to “Benched”

  1. Justin 06/01/2011 at 9:35 pm #

    One thing I learned was to forgive myself. If I miss a gym at the day it is not a failure. I am human and I can go tomorrow. I don’t punish myself, I accept and I move.

    • fitnessforsaken 06/02/2011 at 4:40 pm #

      Thanks Justin…I think that’s the best advice I could get right now. ❤

  2. Kate 06/02/2011 at 9:28 am #

    I have a question!!! Are there ANY good at home prenatal workout DVDs?

    Also, why are my arms jiggling so much as I type I think my skin might give me a black eye?

Leave a Reply

